Skip To Content

Athabasca University

AU Recognition

Athabasca University (AU) is one of four research-intensive, publicly funded institutions of the Province of Alberta. You can rest assured that your AU experience represents a rigorous, high quality university education. We are a respected and recognized university with a proven track record.


AU is recognized by the Government of Alberta and reports to the Government of Alberta through the Ministry of Advanced Education and Technology. AU's quality assurance mechanisms and program proposals are reviewed by the Campus Alberta Quality Council. AU has the mandate for the provision of university-level distance education programs in Alberta. Through Alberta’s Post-secondary Learning Act, the government authorizes Athabasca University Governing Council to govern the university and to grant degrees. Members of Governing Council are appointed by Orders in Council of the Government of Alberta. AU is also recognized by the Government of British Columbia.

United States

In 2006, AU became the first Canadian public university to receive recognition in the United States, through the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE), one of six regional organizations in the U.S. that accredits universities. No other public Canadian university holds this level of foreign recognition.

AU Memberships

  • Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU)
  • Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada (AUCC)
  • Canadian Association for Graduate Studies (CAGS)
  • Canadian Network for Innovation in Education (CNIE)
  • International Council for Open and Distance Education (ICDE)
  • International Education Council (IEC)
  • Inter-American Distance Education Consortium (CREAD)

More information on Athabasca University's collaborations and partnerships can be found on the main campus website.

Updated October 10 2019 by Student & Academic Services

AU, CANADA'S OPEN UNIVERSITY, is an internationally recognized leader in online and distance learning.